Cape by the Lakeside

6 Jan

Happy Holidays!  My Christmas and New Years were both incredibly busy and full of relatives, friends and one long trip to Kentucky.  It was a combination of wonderful and exhausting, and with the combination of traveling, visiting, and a cold snap (down to 20-ish) I didn’t end up doing a lot of photography.  I hope to remedy that in the upcoming weeks.  At any rate, our drive to Elizabethtown and back led to some fruitful Goodwill shopping.  I highly recommend Covington, Virginia and Lexington, Kentucky for their clean and well maintained stores.  In Covington, I found a really unusual, fantastic piece, straight out of the 60’s or perhaps the 70’s:

This is a completely handmade dark pink and white wallpaper-pattern cape with crochet-and-ribbon trim.  It’s unlined, and has edged arm slits and big wonderful pom pom closures!

If you’ve been following this blog you know that this isn’t the first time I’ve been seen in a cape.  I had figured that my interest in capes passed with high school, but when the magazines and runways started talking about them again I added one to my mental wishist– not a medieval one this time, but something a little more funky and less Renaissance Faire.  And you know what?  When I bought this I thought I might just sell it, since it’s so wild.  But when I wore it around today, I felt (there’s no better way to describe it) pretty baller.  Yeah.  So it’s going into the closet.  I will wear this weird-ass piece of clothing with pride, as it was clearly meant to be worn.

Here’s something I’ve had for a while but haven’t yet had a chance to feature on the blog:

Yes, the design is the Unicorn in Captivity.  It’s a vintage locket/perfume container from Avon, and it’s seen a lot of wear, as you can tell from the chips in the finish.  As such, I picked it up for a song– mint examples  I’ve run across go for around $60.  I also added the brass chain.  I have a couple of longer necklaces but for some reason I generally don’t feel like they really “work” with my outfits– either they’re too much or not quite right, but I felt that in this case the locket was a perfect complement to the cape.  Just a little pop of jewelry to set it off.

The rest of the outfit is extremely pared down, since the cape is such a bold piece.  The jeans are my pair of skinnies from Earnest Sewn, and the turtleneck has the tag cut out and so will live in anonymity.  The shoes are my Frye mary janes, but I would really like to switch them for a pair of brown riding boots, if I get the chance.  Who knows, maybe I’ll get lucky this spring!

2 Responses to “Cape by the Lakeside”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Texture Adventures « Getting Used: A Thrifty Fashion Blog - February 2, 2012

    […] layered Sweet Pea top which showed up several times during the summer, along with my lot-purchased Kasil jeans, also a staple.  The boots are previously featured (and wonderfully versatile) brown cowboy […]

  2. Am I blending in? Or, working with a tricky piece « Getting Used: A Thrifty Fashion Blog - March 8, 2012

    […] of these have been just a little too wacky to salvage, even though (as you know) my tolerance for wacky clothing is pretty high.  I try to balance my taste for the unusual with an attempt to look […]

Leave a comment