The Vintage Tee: A fashion comparison

29 Aug

Today I pulled out one of my favorite t-shirts.  I have a decent amount of t-shirts, usually reserved for wear under blazers or with skirts on warm fall days, but I almost never wear this one because it’s become quite fragile over the years.  It’s an original Raiders of the Lost Ark t-shirt from c. 1981, and I’ve never been able to find another like it.

Indiana Jones was a hero to me growing up– probably one of my biggest role models.  I loved his grit, his willingness to fail and then keep going, and his interest in all things medieval– plus I have always loved feeling like movies are connected to history/legend, and two out of three of the original series really did that.  But instead of focusing on this career-inspiring story, I want to compare today’s look to my fashion of 6 years ago to demonstrate how the same piece can be part of a fashion “growth process.”  Here I am with the same t-shirt on in 2005, for comparison.


A couple of things to note.  These are really very similar outfits.  Both are casual, involve sneakers and a t-shirt, and employ some comfortable, easy to wear fabrics.  So what’s different?  Well, I learned about what is flattering to my body, and how best to work with fabrics and layering, and thanks to Goodwill, also upgraded my sneaker collection.

Let’s start with the most obvious thing: the choice of bottoms.  In the older photo, I’m wearing one of the worst possible trends for my body shape, the bermuda short.  I have really long legs, and all this style manages to do is cut them off in the middle, making my thighs look extra large and shortening the visual impact of the bare leg.  Regardless of whether bermudas fit me snugly or loosely, they’re just not flattering.  In the photo at top, I’ve picked a pair of length-emphasizing dark jeans, originally from Maurice’s and found at the Culpeper thrift store.  The higher contrast also makes the outfit more interesting!

The sneakers, then.  On 2005 shot, I’ve got a really bulky sports sneaker, which is great for jogging or even wearing under jeans, but looks clunky paired with a short.  The white socks just add to the “bro” vibe of the outfit and certainly don’t up its fashion quotient.  On today’s photo, you see these sneakers:

These are a really interesting, sleek pair of shoes whose only marking is “Made in USA.”  They’re a nice thick leather with canvas accent striping for a sporty look – but their paired-down silhouette takes them from “puffy running shoe” to stylish but casual.

In terms of accessories, the earrings on the second photo are studs, which get lost in all my hair and add nothing to the outfit.  In today’s photo I’ve switched them for a still minimalist but slightly more assertive gold hoop (a present from my mother-in-law), which echoes the gold tones of the shirt as well as making a subtle reference to the gold in Raiders.

Lastly, the shirt.  All the magazines in the world will tell you “thin” t-shirts are juuuust dreeeeamy.  These writers need to be punched in the face.  Thin t-shirts, unless you have washboard (and I do mean washboard) abs, are difficult as hell to pull off.  In my 2005 picture, the shorts hit right below the gut and the t-shirt clings instead of skimming all the curves and bulges.  On the right, I’ve treated it a little differently.  The pants hit just a tad higher, and I’ve layered the shirt with a suede button down, an Ebay find originally from Banana Republic, which gives it a little bit more structure, and a much more flattering shape on my upper arms.  You can still see the awesome graphic, but it’s toned back just a tad with a grown-up piece in a fabric that plays well with the Indy theme.

So really, the differences lie in proportion, structure, and fabrics.  There’s no drastic body transformation; instead, I’ve switched to styles that allow my body to look its best.

2 Responses to “The Vintage Tee: A fashion comparison”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Warm December « Getting Used: A Thrifty Fashion Blog - December 1, 2011

    […] way against you.  The pants are previously mentioned Kasil clearance finds, the earrings are my gold hoops, also previously covered, but the shoes are new to the blog.  They came up briefly in the post […]

  2. Maneuvers « Getting Used: A Thrifty Fashion Blog - August 9, 2012

    […] and conservative, which is a danger for the dress on its own.  I matched the skulls with my plain gold hoops and the J. Crew gold sandals I’ve featured here many times – they’ve actually […]

Leave a comment